LatestArchivAllgemein

Catherine Sanke & Jinhwi Lee – 2 positions of contemporary ceramic art

Ceramics as a meaning of expression in contemporary art has a long tradition. On the occasion of the renaming of the artists’ house two positions of contemporary ceramic art will be shown in this context. The two artists will be present at the KULToURNACHT on May 21st (6 p.m. to midnight).

Catherine Sanke

Catherine Sanke marks and paints porcelain objects layer by layer with ceramic paints. Only the fire makes this visible in its final appearance. The gesture of the process sticks to the objects. She finds inspiration in literature. Fragmentary quotes and images work together, face each other and are shown in installative forms of presentation. Catherine Sanke lives and works in Leipzig. She studied free ceramics at the Burg Giebichenstein Art University of Art and Design Halle. In 2020 she received the Perron Art Prize for porcelain.

http://catherine-sanke.de

Jinhwi Lee

Jinhwi Lee develops his own ceramic glaze expressive technique through mistakes and unexpected things that happen in the studio. His work is a reaction to his spatial, social and inner environment. He deals with the experimental surface design with specially made glazes. For his work he not only experiments with liquid glazes, but also with dried or biscuit glaze pieces (fired at 900°C). The South Korean artist studied free ceramics at the Muthesius Universitiy of Fine Arts and Design in Kiel. Jinhwi Lee has received numerous recognitions at home and abroad with his work. In 2020 he got the Ceramics Promotion Prize in the Powder Tower in Oldenburg. Since 2022 he has been working as a workshop manager in the class for free ceramics at the Muthesius Universitiy of Fine Arts and Design in Kiel.

https://hjhceramics.com

Duration of the exhibition: May 8th – May 21, 2022 | Vernissage May 8, 2022, 6 p.m. & KULToURNIGHT May 21, 2022, 6 p.m.-midnight

AktuellArchiv

Catherine Sanke & Jinhwi Lee – 2 Positionen zeitgenössischer Keramik

Keramik als Ausdrucksmittel zeitgenössischer Kunst hat eine lange Tradition. Anlässlich der Umbenennung des Künstlerhauses werden in diesem Rahmen zwei Positionen zeitgenössischer Keramikkunst präsentiert. Zur KULToURNACHT am 21. Mai (18-24 Uhr) werden die beiden Künstler*innen anwesend sein.

Catherine Sanke

Catherine Sanke bezeichnet und bemalt Porzellanobjekte Schicht für Schicht mit keramischen Farben. Diese macht erst der Brand in ihrer endgültigen Erscheinung sichtbar. Die Geste des Prozesses haftet auf den Objekten. Inspirationen findet sie in der Literatur. Fragmentarische Zitate und Bilder wirken zusammen, stehen sich gegenüber und werden in installativen Präsentationsformen gezeigt. Catherine Sanke lebt und arbeitet in Leipzig. Sie studierte Freie Keramik an der Kunsthochschule Burg Giebichenstein in Halle an der Saale. 2020 erhielt sie den Perron-Kunstpreis für Porzellan.

http://catherine-sanke.de

Jinhwi Lee

Jinhwi Lee entwickelt seine eigene Ausdruckstechnik für keramische Glasuren durch Fehler und unerwartete Dinge, die im Studio passieren. Seine Arbeit ist die Reaktion auf seine räumlich, soziale und innere Umgebung. Er beschäftigt sich mit der experimentellen Oberflächengestaltung mit eigens hergestellten Glasuren. Für seine Arbeit experimentiert er nicht nur mit flüssigen Glasuren, sondern auch mit getrockneten oder geschrühten (bei 900°C gebrannte) Glasurstückchen. Der aus Südkorea stammende Künstler hat Freie Keramik an der Muthesius Hochschule Kiel studiert. Jinhwi Lee hat mit seiner Arbeit zahlreiche Anerkennungen im In- und Ausland erhalten. Unter anderem 2020 den Förderpreis Keramik im Pulverturm in Oldenburg. Seit 2022 ist er als Werkstattleiter in der Klasse für Freie Keramik an der Muthesius Hochschule Kiel tätig.

https://www.hjhceramics.com/

Ausstellungsdauer: 8.Mai. bis 21.Mai.2022 | Vernissage 8. Mai 2022, 18 Uhr & KULToURNACHT 21. Mai 2022, 18-24 Uhr